Two furious businessmen are fighting in the office
Mitch Furman

Things to Know About Battery Laws in Illinois

There are different types of battery crimes in Illinois, including simple battery and aggravated battery. Simple battery occurs when an individual makes physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature without legal justification. It is a Class A misdemeanor and can result in up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Aggravated battery, on the other hand, involves causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement to another person or using a deadly weapon in the commission of the offense. Depending on the circumstances, aggravated battery can be charged as a felony, with penalties ranging from 1 to 60 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.

Read More »